Afghan Whigs, The - Black Love 20th Anniversary Edition LIMITED 3LP (+bonus tracks)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $44.99

Black Love (20th Anniversary Edition) was released as a double-CD and a triple-LP. Both include a newly remastered version of the original 11-track album, plus nine previously unreleased recordings, including demos, outtakes and studio jams.

Released in the spring of 1996, Black Love was the Afghan Whigs' fifth studio album overall. The music was inspired by lead singer Greg Dulli's idea to make a film noir movie. Although the film was never made, it did help inform the album's dark tone and fuel songs like the singles "Honky's Ladder" and "Going To Town." The album opener, "Crime Scene Part One" was inspired by the screenplay for "The Million Dollar Hotel," while "Blame, Etc." reflected on the troubled life of Temptations singer David Ruffin.

Black Love (20th Anniversary Edition) includes nine previously unreleased recordings. Among the standouts are acoustic versions of "Going To Town" called: "Go To Town" and "Crime Scene Part Two." Also included is a demo for "Faded," which closed the original album, as well as a solo piano cover of the New Order classic "Regret." The unreleased material also highlights the band's creative process with "Mick Taylor Jam" and "Wynton Kelly Jam."

Disc: 1A
01. Crime Scene Part One (Remastered)
02. My Enemy (Remastered)
03. Double Day (Remastered)

Disc: 1B
01. Blame, Etc. (Remastered)
02. Step Into The Light (Remastered)
03. Going To Town (Remastered)

Disc: 2A
01. Honky's Ladder (Remastered)
02. Night By Candlelight (Remastered)
03. Bulletproof (Remastered)

Disc: 2B
01. Summer's Kiss (Remastered)
02. Faded (Remastered)

Disc: 3A
01. Go To Town (Acoustic Version/Mix)
02. Leaving Town Mix 1.0
03. Faded - Demo
04. Regret
05. Crime Scene Part II Mix 1.1 (with Scratch Vocals)

Disc: 3B01. Mick Taylor Jam
02. Wynton Kelly Jam
03. I Often Think of You
04. Staring Across The Water